Home Page

Meet the Governors

Welcome …


On behalf of  Djanogly Northgate Academy’s Governing Body, I would like say welcome to our new children and parents and welcome back, for another year, to all our returning children and parents.


For those of you who don’t know me, my name is Gayle Aughton and I am very proud to be the Chair of Governors here at Djanogly Northgate


I have lived in New Basford for over 20 years raising my family.  During the day I work full time for the Local Authority.  I believe that it is the fundamental right of all children to receive an outstanding quality of education. As Chair of Governors I am committed to working with  staff, children and parents to achieve this goal.

What do the Governors do?


The role of the Governing Body is a strategic one, its key functions are to:


set the aims and objectives for the Academy
set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
monitor and evaluate the progress the Academy is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
be a source of challenge and support to the Executive Headteacher and Heads of School (a critical friend)

Who are DNA’s Governors?


Gayle Aughton (Chair of Governors)

Joshua Broadhurst (Community Governor)

James Thanangadan (Staff Governor)

Martha Longdon (Community Governor)

Rebecca Spencer (Head Teacher), Djanogly Northgate Academy




How do I contact DNA’s Governors?


You can contact the Governors by:


Via the Clerk to Governors – Mhairi Billington –  
You can also get in touch with Governors via the main school telephone number and we will then contact you:  Northgate – 0115 9156896

DNA Governors Dates

Registers of Interests and Attendance


This is held within central services at Djanogly Learning Trust to view please use the link here.